Skip to product information
1 of 1

SDE EXCLUSIVE: Keane / Hopes and Fears limited edition blu-ray audio

SDE EXCLUSIVE: Keane / Hopes and Fears limited edition blu-ray audio

Regular price £23.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £23.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Taxes included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

New! *No extra charges for shipping to the EU* the SDE shop is now IOSS registered (international One Stop Shop).

2004 Debut Album • SDE Exclusive • Dolby Atmos Mix • Bonus track • #21 in the SDE Surround Series • Limited to 2,500 units worldwide • Region-Free • PRE-ORDER: Release date 10 May 2024

[This blu-ray is region-free]

Keane's debut Hopes and Fears will be issued as an SDE-exclusive blu-ray in May, #21 in the ongoing SDE Surround Series.

The album features three UK top 10 singles in 'Somewhere Only We Know', 'Everybody's Changing' and 'Bedshaped' and was a massive success. It has since gone on to sell more than 2.7m copies in the UK alone, a million copies in America and 6m worldwide.

The SDE blu-ray features a brand new Dolby Atmos Mix by David Kosten (David produced Keane's last studio album Cause and Effect, and created the Atmos Mixes for Tubular Bells and No Parlez) as well as a brand new 5.1 mix and a 96/24 stereo mix

Neither the new stereo mix nor the 5.1 mix have anything to do with the old mixes on the SACD. Frank Arkwright at Abbey Road has created a warm, detailed and dynamic hi-res stereo remaster from the original unmastered mixes of the album and the 5.1 mix is brand new, derived from the Atmos Mix.

David Kosten: "I’ve mixed the whole album in Dolby Atmos, going back to the original multi-track parts to recreate the complex and multi-layered productions. It’s such an emotionally direct and deceptively simple sounding set of recordings – who knew that there were two dozen or more keyboard parts on many of the songs – synths, CP70, acoustic and electric pianos, pianettes, etc – all lovingly crafted and blended together with ridiculously fine vocals and drums!"

Additionally, the SDE-exclusive blu-ray audio features a bonus track, the 'lost' song 'Love Actually', which was written and recorded while Keane were an unsigned band with a view to persuading Richard Curtis to use it in his 2003 romantic comedy (the band's friend and manager Adam was working for the producer of the film). Sadly, the song was never used, with Richard Curtis recently commenting that "Everyone makes mistakes... I thought it was beautiful. I tried really hard to put it in the film – but in the end it was a little melancholy and, dare I say, a bit DEEP for the film I’d made".


'Love Actually', is included in all three audio streams: Atmos, 5.1 and hi-res stereo. The blu-ray audio will ship with a free SDE Surround Series slipcase.

This SDE-exclusive blu-ray of Hopes and Fears will be released on 10 May 2024 via UMR/Island. It's limited to just 2,500 units.

TECHNICAL NOTES: This blu-ray audio requires a blu-ray player. Decoding the Dolby Atmos mix requires a Dolby Atmos-certified soundbar or a Dolby Atmos-compatible AV Receiver/Amp. The Dolby Atmos mix will 'fold down' to 5.1 if a Dolby Atmos decoder is not detected.

Hopes and Fears in Dolby Atmos, DTS-HD 5.1 Surround (48/24)  and 96/24 stereo
  1. Somewhere Only We Know
  2. Bend And Break
  3. We Might As Well Be Strangers
  4. Everybody’s Changing
  5. Your Eyes Open
  6. She Has No Time
  7. Can’t Stop Now
  8. Sunshine
  9. This Is The Last Time
  10. On a Day Like Today
  11. Untitled 1
  12. Bedshaped
Bonus track in Dolby Atmos, DTS-HD 5.1 Surround (48/24)  and 96/24 stereo
  1. Love Actually
    View full details