Skip to product information
1 of 1

Curiosity Killed The Cat / The Mercury Years 1986-1990 4CD box set

Curiosity Killed The Cat / The Mercury Years 1986-1990 4CD box set

Regular price £25.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £25.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Taxes included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Misfits: The Mercury Years 1986-1990 is a new 4CD box set featuring British 1980s pop band Curiosity Killed The Cat. Two-and-a-half years in the making, this set has been compiled by SDE Editor Paul Sinclair and has been put together with the cooperation of the band. 

Curiosity Killed The Cat were fronted by the charismatic Ben Volpeliere-Pierrot and they enjoyed a number one album and a string of hits in the late 1980s, including Down To Earth, Ordinary Day, Name and Number and Misfit. The promo video for the latter was memorably filmed by – and co-starred – Andy Warhol, who took a shine to the band and invited them over to New York in 1986.

This 4CD collection comes packaged in a clamshell box and includes:

  • The Keep Your Distance (1987) and Getahead (1989) albums in full (across two CDs), with bonus tracks including 12-mixes and B-sides
  • Two further CDs featuring a wealth of remixes and unreleased material
  • 20 tracks new-to-CD including unheard remixes of Down to Earth and Cascade (discovered in the archive!)
  • 12 previously unreleased demos including five never released songs!
  • Newly mastered audio. Original tapes transferred at Abbey Road Studios.
  • 24-page booklet with notes by Record Collector's Paul Lester featuring a new interview with the band's Mig Drummond.


CD 1: Keep Your Distance + bonus tracks

1. Misfit
2. Down To Earth
3. Free
4. Know What You Know
5. Curiosity Killed The Cat
6. Ordinary Day
7.Mile High
8. Red Lights
9. Shallow Memory
10. Misfit (extended mix)
11. Man*
12. Corruption (dub)*
13. Down To Earth (extended mix)
14. Ordinary Day (extraordinary mix)
15. Bullet
16. Free (dub master)*

* Previously unreleased on CD

CD 2: Getahead + bonus tracks

1. Name and Number
2. Do Your Believin’
3. Cascade
4. First Place
5. We Just Gotta Do it (For Us)
6. Go Go Ahead
7. Trees Don’t Grown On Money
8. Treat You So Well
9. Who Are You
10. Security Lady
11. Something New, Something Blue
12. Keep On Trying
13. Name and Number (extended mix)*
14. Ball and Chain
15. Name and Number (club sandwich mix)*
16. Misfit (Jazzy Dub Remix ‘89)
17. Name and Number (a schizo version)*
18. Name and Number (jazzy dub version)*

* Previously unreleased on CD

CD 3: Remixes, Edits & Dubs

1. Down To Earth (7” version)
2. Ordinary Day (ordinary version)*
3. Misfit (extended mix)*
4. Ordinary Day (extended version)*
5. Mile High (mile long mix)
6. Name and Number (version)*
7. Ordinary Day (version)
8. Misfit (dub)*
9. Down To Earth (instrumental)*
10. Ordinary Day (dub mix)*
11. Misfit (morales extended mix)*
12. Free (instrumental)*
13. Misfit (dub mix)*
14. Cascade (dub mix)**

* Previously unreleased on CD
** Previously unreleased

CD 4: Remixes, Demos & Outtakes

1. Free (free style )
2. Name and Number (hanging on person to person)
3. Free (free form)*
4. Misfit (club mix)*
5. Free (solo style)*
6. Misfit (demo)**
7. Wag (Know What You Know) (demo)**
8. Curiosity Killed The Cat (demo)**
9. Ordinary Day (demo)**
10. Mile High (demo)**
11. Red Lights (demo)**
12. Shallow Memory (demo)**
13. Easy (demo)**
14. Now That You’ve Gone (demo)**
15. Why (demo)**
16. Out Of Curiosity (demo)**
17. Hidden Informer (demo)**
18. Down To Earth (remix)**
19. Down To Earth (instrumental remix)**

** Previously unreleased
* Previously unreleased on CD

View full details