Skip to product information
1 of 1

Marvin Gaye / You're The Man 2LP vinyl

Marvin Gaye / You're The Man 2LP vinyl

Regular price £35.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £35.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

You're The Man 2LP vinyl

Scrapped What's Going on follow-up

You’re The Man is the first-ever planned “lost” Tamla/Motown album from Marvin Gaye. 15 of the album’s 17 tracks are on vinyl for the first time and three tracks are newly mixed by SaLaAM ReMi. The album also includes the rare long LP version of Marvin Gaye’s cancelled Christmas single from ’72, as well as an unreleased vault mix of its instrumental B-side, and new essay by Marvin’s biographer, David Ritz.  The release will coincide with the 60th anniversary of Motown as a label and also Marvin Gaye’s  80th Birthday (April 2).

While the tracks have been issued on various collections and deluxe editions, this is the first time they have been placed in their proper context.  In addition to context, You’re The Man was the album that was proposed to follow-up the monumental What’s Going On, and it contains all of Marvin’s solo and non-soundtrack recordings from 1972 (his next two albums in quick succession: Trouble Man and Let’s Get It On).

Issued by UMC on 29 March 2019.

LP1 (Side 1)

  1. You're The Man
  2. The World Is Rated X
  3. Piece Of Clay
  4. Where Are We Going?

LP1 (Side 2)

  1. I'm Gonna Give You Respect
  2. Try It. You'll Like It
  3. You Are That Special One
  4. We Can Make It Baby

LP2 (Side 3)

  1. My Last Chance
  2. Symphony
  3. I'd Give My Life For You
  4. Woman Of The World
  5. Christmas In The City (instrumental)

LP2 (Side 4)

  1. You're The Man (Version 2)
  2. I Wan't To Come Home For Chistmas
  3. I Going Home (Move)
  4. Checking Out (Double Clutch)
View full details