Skip to product information
1 of 2

David Gilmour / Luck and Strange sea blue coloured vinyl LP

David Gilmour / Luck and Strange sea blue coloured vinyl LP

PRE-ORDER: Release Date 6 September 2024

Regular price £35.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £35.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

New! *No extra charges for shipping to the EU* the SDE shop is now IOSS registered (international One Stop Shop).

New studio album • Translucent 'Sea Blue' coloured vinyl LP • PRE-ORDER: Released on 6 September 2024

David Gilmour's new studio album is called Luck and Strange in September.

The guitarist and songwriter's fifth solo album was recorded over five months in Brighton and London and is Gilmour’s first album of new material in nine years. David co-produced with ALT-J's Charlie Andrew and Marika Hackman, with lyrics mostly written by Polly Samson.

Of this new working relationship, David says, “We invited Charlie to the house, so he came and listened to some demos, and said things like, “Well, why does there have to be a guitar solo there?” and “Do they all fade out? Can’t some of them just end?”. He has a wonderful lack of knowledge or respect for this past of mine. He’s very direct and not in any way overawed, and I love that. That is just so good for me because the last thing you want is people just deferring to you.”

Musicians contributing to the record include Guy Pratt and Tom Herbert on bass; Adam Betts, Steve Gadd and Steve DiStanislao on drums; Rob Gentry and Roger Eno on keyboards; and the string and choral arrangements are by Will Gardner.

The album features eight new tracks along with a beautiful reworking of The Montgolfier Brothers’ ‘Between Two Points’, which sees Romany Gilmour, who performs backing vocals across the album, on vocals and harp. The title track also features the late Pink Floyd keyboard player Richard Wright, recorded in 2007 during a ‘Barn Jam’ at David’s house.

This special LP edition is pressed on translucent 'sea blue' vinyl. Luck and Strange is released on 6 September 2024 via Sony Music.

    Luck and Strange 'sea blue' coloured vinyl LP

    Side 1

    1. Black Cat (Gilmour)
    2. Luck and Strange (Gilmour/Samson)
    3. The Piper’s Call (Gilmour/Samson)
    4. A Single Spark (Gilmour/Samson)
    5. Vita Brevis (Gilmour) 
    6. Between Two Points (Tranmer/Quigley)

    Side 2

    1. Dark and Velvet Nights (Gilmour/Samson)
    2. Sings (Gilmour/Samson)
    3. Scattered (D. Gilmour/Samson/C. Gilmour)
        View full details