Skip to product information
1 of 2

Suede 30th anniversary 2CD set in deluxe seven-inch packaging

Suede 30th anniversary 2CD set in deluxe seven-inch packaging

Regular price £19.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £19.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
*If you are ordering from the EU please be aware that that goods may be subject to import VAT when they arrive from the UK*

Suede 30th anniversary 2CD set

Deluxe seven-inch packaging • B-sides on second disc * Released on 7 July 2023

Suede's self-titled debut album from 1993 will be reissued in July for its 30th anniversary. This 2CD set includes the remastered album, B-sides and special deluxe seven-inch packaging.

Suede is unarguably a landmark British album of the 1990s, and was both a critical and commercial triumph, winning the Mercury Music Prize and entering the UK Album Chart at number one, in April 1993 (knocking Depeche Mode's Songs of Faith and Devotion off the summit). Frontman Brett Anderson pointedly calls it "the first Britpop album" while dissociating it and Suede the band from the 'Cool Britannia' type movement that followed; "It certainly wasn't a celebration of some imaginary view of British life... some fantasy, Carnaby Street, 1960s thing" he said. Bass player Mat Osman perhaps put it best suggesting that in the wider context of Britpop, Suede was "Dr Frankenstein, but not the monster".

Such was the momentum and excitement generated by the band's first three singles (‘The Drowners’, Metal Mickey’, and ‘Animal Nitrate’), Suede sold 100,000 copies in its first week, making it one of the fastest-selling debut albums in the UK, at the time. A fourth and final single, 'So Young' was issued about a month after the album was issued in May '93.


The album has been newly mastered by Phil Kinrade at AIR from the original 1⁄2” tapes and production masters, overseen and approved by producer Ed Buller. The nine B-sides are now included on a second CD, along with a cover of ‘Brass in Pocket’, recorded for an NME covermount cassette. In recent times, Brett has commented that in hindsight, he would have included some of the B-sides in the album’s tracklisting.

The two CDs are presented in brand new seven-inch deluxe gatefold packaging, with an 8-page booklet which includes the lyrics and credits.

Suede is released on 7 July 2023, via Demon Music.

CD 1: Suede

1. So Young
2. Animal Nitrate
3. She’s Not Dead
4. Moving
5. Pantomime Horse
6. The Drowners
7. Sleeping Pills
8. Breakdown
9. Metal Mickey
10. Animal Lover
11. The Next Life

CD 2: The B-Sides

1. My Insatiable One
2. To The Birds
3. He’s Dead
4. Where The Pigs Don’t Fly 5. Painted People
6. The Big Time
7. High Rising
8. Dolly
9. My Insatiable One [piano version]
10. Brass In Pocket


View full details