Skip to product information
1 of 3

LIMITED SIGNED EDITION: Ian Broudie / Tales Told - vinyl LP + 7" single

LIMITED SIGNED EDITION: Ian Broudie / Tales Told - vinyl LP + 7" single

Regular price £25.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £25.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Taxes included. Shipping calculated at checkout.


Tales Told vinyl LP + 7" EP

SIGNED by Ian Broudie (SDE exclusive) • First time on vinyl • Bonus seven-inch EP • Revised artwork

Ian Broudie’s 2004 solo debut Tales Told is issued on vinyl for the first time with a bonus EP which includes three previously unavailable recordings. The album was recorded in Liverpool during a series of sessions with members of The Coral and The Zutons and is reissued by Pete Paphides' new label 'Needle Mythology'.

Tales Told marked a departure from Ian’s previous work with The Lightning Seeds. Instead, Ian stripped his songwriting to its bare fundaments, drawing on personal events in his life to create an album of tender, lovelorn ruminations.

Ian is best known for his work with The Lightning Seeds, whose debut single Pure heralded a run of well-loved hits which included Sense, The Life of Riley, Marvellous, Lucky You, Change and You Showed Me. With The Lightning Seeds, Ian was also responsible for the multi-platinum single Three Lions, which in 2018 made chart history when it enjoyed its fourth spell at number one – the most enjoyed by the same artist.

For this release, the artwork has been revised and includes an alternate front cover image, approved by Ian Broudie. This is presented as a 180g black vinyl pressing in a gatefold sleeve and includes lyrics and notes by Ian Broudie.

The audio has been remastered by Guy Davie at Electric Mastering and the record has been  pressed at the old EMI pressing plant in Hayes Middlesex, now operated by Vinyl Factory.

The vinyl LP comes with a seven-inch EP with four bonus tracks.

It is released on 10 May 2019 by Needle Mythology. Note, this doesn't include a download.

Tales Told 180g black vinyl LP

Side One

1. Song For No One
2. Whenever I Do
3. He Sails Tonight
4. Smoke Rings
5. Got No Plans
6. Always Knocking

Side Two

1.Tales Told
2. Lipstick
3. Super Cinema
4. Home From Home
5. Something Street
6. Broudie's Blues

Seven-inch EP

Side A

1. Home From Home (Band Version)
2. Song For No One (Demo)

Side B

1. Shifting Sands
2. Something Street (Early Version)

View full details